Statistical Commission

The United Nations Statistical Commission, established in 1947, is the apex entity of the global statistical system. It brings together the Chief Statisticians from member states from around the world. It is the highest decision making body for international statistical activities especially the setting of statistical standards, the development of concepts and methods and their implementation at the national and international level.

United Nations Forum on Forests

On October 2000, the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC), in its Resolution2000/35 established the United Nations Forum on Forests (UNFF), a subsidiary body with the main objective to promote “… the management, conservation and sustainable development of all types of forests and to strengthen long-term political commitment to this end…” based on the Rio Declaration, the Forest Principles, Chapter 11 of Agenda 21 and the

Commission on Sustainable Development

Established in 1992, the CSD monitors the implementation of UN Environment and Development initiatives and commitments, provides guidance at the local, national, regional, and international levels for the implementation of relevant policies. The Commission also provides financial, logistical, and technical support across these levels.

Commission on Population and Development

Established in 1946, and expanded to address development issues in 1994, the CPD is composed of 47 Member States which play and advisory role to the Economic and Social Council.

Peacebuilding Commission

The United Nations Peacebuilding Commission was established by the UN Security Council and General Assembly on December 20th, 2005 through resolutions 60/180 and 1645.

Sanctions Committees

Under Chapter VII of the Charter, the Security Council can take enforcement measures to maintain or restore international peace and security. Such measures range from economic and/or other sanctions not involving the use of armed force to international military action.

Counter-Terrorism and Non-Proliferation Committees

The United Nation's Counter-Terrorism and Non-Proliferation Committees consists of two commttees. There are the Counter-Terrorism Committee and the 1540 Committee.

Peacekeeping Operations

Peacekeeping operations have had mandates ranging from traditional methods of resolving disputes peacefully under Chapter VI, such as promoting reconciliation, assisting with the implementation of a peace agreement, or performing mediation and good offices, and more forceful action as authorized under Chapter VII which can authorize a range of measures including the use of force under Article 42 of the Charter. 

ICTR International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) is a United Nations (UN) court of law prosecuting individuals for genocide and other mass atrocities that occurred in the territory Rwanda from January 1, 1994 to December 31, 1994 [1]. The ICTY was established by the Security Council on November 8, 1994 by Resolution 955 in accordance with Chapter VII of the UN Charter[2].

Crimes of Sexual Violence