Advisory Group

UN High-Level Steering Committee

The UN High-Level Steering Committee was set up by Deputy Secretary General Asha-Rose Migiro. It was tasked with enhancing the UN system's efforts to implement Resolution 1325 and steer advocacy and initiatives in the lead up to 1325+10. The High-Level Steering Committee is chaired by the UN Deputy Secretary General, and the membership includes the Principals of UN entities.

The Civil Society Advisory Group (CSAG)

A high-level Civil Society Advisory Group (CSAG) was established to advise the UN High-Level Steering Committee for the 10th anniversary of UNSCR 1325, the Deputy Secretary General and, ultimately, the Secretary-General on ensuring a coherent and coordinated approach by the UN system to implementing UNSCR 1325.

The CSAG is co-chaired by Mary Robinson, President of Realizing Rights: The Ethical Globalization Initiative, former President of Ireland and UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and Bineta Diop, Executive Director, Femmes Africa Solidarité.                                                                                                

The CSAG Secretariat is the Women Leaders Intercultural Forum of Realizing Rights, The Institute for Inclusive Security and the NGO Working Group on Women, Peace and Security.

Other eminent members include:

  • Salim Ahmed Salim (Tanzania)
  • Elizabeth Rehn (Finland)
  • Lahkdar Brahimi (Algeria)
  • Hina Jilani (Pakistan)
  • Sanam Anderlini (Iran/United Kingdom)
  • Thelma Awori (Liberia/Uganda)
  • Swanee Hunt (United States)
  • Sharon Bhagwan-Rolls (Fiji)
  • Susana Villaran De La Puente (Peru)
  • Nyaradzai Gumbonzvanda (Zimbabwe)
  • Zainab Salbi (Iraq/United States)
  • Donald Steinberg (United States)

The Civil Society Advisory Group published several key papers: