NIGERIA: Women Affairs Minister Commits to Peace and Security

Thursday, April 10, 2014
Western Africa
PeaceWomen Consolidated Themes: 
General Women, Peace and Security

The Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Zainab Maina has reiterated the commitment of the Present Administration to the entrenchment of appropriate mechanisms towards ensuring peace, security and the protection of lives and property in the country.

She made the remarks while inaugurating a seventeen-member 'National Steering Committee on the Implementation of National Action Plan on UN Resolution 1325' on Wednesday April 9, 2014 in Abuja. Adding, the document is a practical and operational tool for the participation of women at all the levels of peace processes.

According to her, aside from being a practical and operational tool for the participation of women at all levels of peace processes, the National Action Plan will as well provide protection for those affected by armed conflicts: women, children and communities to be informed about government's response to their plight and the support programmes available to them.

She also noted that the inauguration of the Committee could not have come at a better time than now, when conflicts have placed tremendous burdens on Nigerians, especially women, who are more vulnerable.

"Nigerian women lose their husbands, bread winners, children and homes, while some flee from their houses during conflicts and post-conflict situations. Several of them suffer from gender - based violence, sexual abuse, post-traumatic stress disorders and other psychological consequences," she indicated.

She pointed out that the Nigerian Government demonstrated its commitment to addressing and involving women in the peace process when it launched the Action Plan in August 2013. She charged members of the Committee to show greater commitment to the assignment by advising government and ensuring that front-line security agencies and other stakeholders implement the document as well as mobilize resources to support the implementation.

The seventeen member committee includes: the representatives of the Ministries of Defense, Justice, Finance, Foreign Affairs, Youth Development and Women Affairs and Social Development, who will coordinate the activities of the Committee. Other members inaugurated were: the National Planning Commission, Nigeria Police, the Budget Office of the Federation, National Boundary Commission, the Institute of Peace and Conflict Resolution, National Orientation Agency, Nigerian Stability and Reconciliation Programme, National Refugees Commission, West African Network for Peace Building, ECOWAS and the UN Women.