SOUTH AFRICA: President Zuma Appoints Commissioners for Gender Equality

Friday, June 1, 2012
Southern Africa
Southern Africa
PeaceWomen Consolidated Themes: 
Reconstruction and Peacebuilding

Pretoria — President Jacob Zuma has appointed nine commissioners to the Commission for Gender Equality.

The President has appointed Mfanozelwe Shozi as a full-time member and chairperson with effect from June 1 to January 30, 2017.

Thoko Mpumlwana is also appointed as a full-time member with effect from June 1 to May 31, 2017, while Janine Hicks appointment is with effect from June 7 - May 6, 2016.

Sylvia Desiree Stevens-Maziya, Wallace Amos Mgoqi, Ndileka Eumera Portia Loyilane, Nondumiso Maphazi Ranuga, Lulama Nare appointments are with effect from June 1 to May 31, 2014.

President Zuma appointed Prof Amanda Gouws as a part-time member with effect from June 1 to May 31, 2014.

The President received recommendations for the appointment of the nine commissioners from the National Assembly in line with section 193 (4) of the Constitution.

"We wish all nine commissioners well as they execute their new duties. As government we look forward to working with them in promoting gender equality and the protection, development and attainment of gender equality," said Zuma.