Sustainable Development 2020

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

The process to identify the theme for the 2020 High-Level Political Forum on Sustainable Development is currently being facilitated by H.E. Mr. Craig John Hawke, Permanent Representative of New Zealand to the United Nations.

Bureau of ECOSOC has agreed that the following 49 countries will be able to present a VNR in 2020: 

26 first-time presenters: Austria, Plurinational State of Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burundi, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gambia, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Federated States of Micronesia, Mozambique, North Macedonia, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, and Zambia and 23 second time presenters: Argentina, Armenia, Bangladesh, Belize, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Honduras, India, Jordan, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Peru, Samoa, Slovenia, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. 

The VNR presentations are planned to begin on Monday, 13 July 2020 (the last of the first five days of HLPF) and proceed for the 3 days of the ministerial segment of HLPF (14 – 16 July 2020). In accordance with past practice, countries presenting a VNR for the first time will be allocated 30 minutes each in the programme; countries presenting a VNR for the second time will be allocated 20 minutes each in a panel format.

Further information about the 2020 HLPF will be posted when available.